[SSE] Vary night visibilty with distance from player

share shaders here
  • Author

[SSE] Vary night visibilty with distance from player

Hello,

I'm new to ENB. I'm trying to make a more realistic exterior night lighting. I find it ridiculous that during the night I can see very far lands, tress, and other objects over vast distances.
So I'm trying to create a little bit of visibility around me, and then visibility should gradually decrease as I look farther and farther away, until trees and mountains that are kilometers away have a black outline.
Basically, just like the level of detail decreases over distance, so should the visibility.

It's easy enough to make things very dark with Direct Lighting Intensity and Ambient Lighting Intensity under Environment, but that makes everything dark, far or near. How can I make these effects vary over distance from the player?
Are there any other settings I can use?

Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thank you very much!
[Skyrim SE]

Re: [SSE] Vary night visibilty with distance from player

jake_S wrote:Hello,

I'm new to ENB. I'm trying to make a more realistic exterior night lighting. I find it ridiculous that during the night I can see very far lands, tress, and other objects over vast distances.
So I'm trying to create a little bit of visibility around me, and then visibility should gradually decrease as I look farther and farther away, until trees and mountains that are kilometers away have a black outline.
Basically, just like the level of detail decreases over distance, so should the visibility.

It's easy enough to make things very dark with Direct Lighting Intensity and Ambient Lighting Intensity under Environment, but that makes everything dark, far or near. How can I make these effects vary over distance from the player?
Are there any other settings I can use?

Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thank you very much!
[Skyrim SE]