Please use english language
It is currently 14 Dec 2017, 13:18

All times are UTC





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 235 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 20, 21, 22, 23, 24  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: 03 Nov 2017, 13:58 
Offline
*blah-blah-blah maniac*
User avatar

Joined: 27 Dec 2011, 08:53
Posts: 11582
Location: St.Petersburg
In gta sa color ranges are very low, so i did math similar to computing albedo from textures by normalizing brightness. It can't work well in other games. In old skyrim to get albedo i patched most of shaders to make them output diffuse texture data to another render target (deferred/mrt rendering), so to make same in skyrim se i need process much more shaders (8107 are created by game twice, so 16k shaders vs around 2k shaders in old game, this is huge performance drop at startup and it is not that easy to patch them without information which texture is diffuse (some objects need more complicated code patching when they use several textures and tint colors, like hairs, skin, terrain).

_________________
Core i5-4690K 3.5 GHz, 16 Gb ram, GeForce 650 Ti 2 Gb, X-Fi Xtreme Music, WinXP/Win7
I am INFP, not the brutal, godamnit.


Top
 Profile  
 
Tomoko
PostPosted: 03 Nov 2017, 14:51 
Offline
*sensei*

Joined: 30 Jan 2012, 13:18
Posts: 489
I see... Is there a way to prevent the game from creating the shaders twice (maybe per additional game version depending plugin) to shorten this? As I don't know how your AO works, how much would it hurt the end result to use regular color buffer with some normalization, just without shadows for example? I know every coder has his standards and this is probably way more hacky than you'd like to do but do the visuals differ a lot from that? The lighting of the game seems pretty flat to me so if you'd for example draw the scene twice with all light sources disabled except some ambient level, you should come pretty close to albedo?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 03 Nov 2017, 15:12 
Offline
*blah-blah-blah maniac*
User avatar

Joined: 27 Dec 2011, 08:53
Posts: 11582
Location: St.Petersburg
If i'll generate albedo from game lighting, it will be okay, not as good as in gtasa of course. But i can't do this, because parameters like direct light affect brightness a lot, such albedo texture will not look well at all. And believe me, without albedo/diffuse only there is no good lighting from ambient occlusion and indirect lighting for characters, which makes my mod give special look to them. In oblivion i extracted color data from lighting, producing bugs from the specular, maybe can do the same at least in exteriors in new skyrim.

_________________
Core i5-4690K 3.5 GHz, 16 Gb ram, GeForce 650 Ti 2 Gb, X-Fi Xtreme Music, WinXP/Win7
I am INFP, not the brutal, godamnit.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 03 Nov 2017, 16:36 
Offline
*sensei*

Joined: 30 Jan 2012, 13:18
Posts: 489
Hm, that doesn't sound too promising. Guess I'll transition back to old Skyrim when I port this DoF here to SM3, Oyama and others requested that anyways. I have W7 still so at least I can use >4GB VRAM and all the other neat things.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 03 Nov 2017, 18:07 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 09 Jul 2015, 16:13
Posts: 98
VRAM bug was fixed in latest Windows 10 Fall Creator's Update.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 03 Nov 2017, 18:19 
Offline
*sensei*

Joined: 30 Jan 2012, 13:18
Posts: 489
TreyM wrote:
VRAM bug was fixed in latest Windows 10 Fall Creator's Update.


Didn't expect that tbh. But I'll keep W7 as long as possible, nonetheless.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 15 Nov 2017, 11:08 
Offline
*sensei*

Joined: 30 Jan 2012, 13:18
Posts: 489
Just ported it to Oldrim :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 15 Nov 2017, 13:37 
Offline
*blah-blah-blah maniac*
User avatar

Joined: 09 Dec 2012, 00:29
Posts: 501
Great news :D

_________________
Rudy ENB for Skyrim, Skyrim SE, for Fallout New Vegas, for Dragon's Dogma

English is not my native language.

Intel Core i7 4790K, 2 x Nvidia Geforce GTX 780 Ti SLI, 32GB ram, NEC SpectraView 242, Windows 7 x64


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 03 Dec 2017, 07:30 
Offline
*blah-blah-blah maniac*
User avatar

Joined: 31 Mar 2012, 15:06
Posts: 1439
Location: France
Marty McFly wrote:
Just ported it to Oldrim :)


Great ! Will you publish it ?

_________________
Obsidian 900D, AX1500i, i7 6850K@4.425 Ghz, MSI X99 Raider, SLI 2x1080Ti 11G VRAM, 32G RAM@3371, 950 Pro M2, 11 Tb HDDs, W10 Pro 64, Full Watercooling
Image
K ENB Pure Light SE
K ENB Pure Light
Kountervibe ENB
Kinematic ENB


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 08 Dec 2017, 08:23 
Offline
*sensei*

Joined: 30 Jan 2012, 13:18
Posts: 489
Absolutely. I just updated to Windows 10 so I'm still in the process of transitioning, haven't installed Skyrim yet.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 235 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 20, 21, 22, 23, 24  Next

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group