[F4/SSE] Natural Bloom 3.0

share shaders here
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar
*blah-blah-blah maniac*
Posts: 17427
Joined: 27 Dec 2011, 08:53
Location: Rather not to say

Re: [Fallout 4] Natural Bloom

Archalyus
Ask someone to make bicubic filtering of PS_BloomMix pixel shader. Or at cost of performance you may change values in FuncBlur pixel shader, for example modify scale=4.0 value and fstepcount=max(fstepcount, 2.0); can be changed to fstepcount=max(fstepcount, 3.0); or fstepcount=max(fstepcount, 4.0);
_________________
i9-9900k, 64Gb RAM, RTX 3060 12Gb, Win7

Offline
User avatar
*sensei*
Posts: 341
Joined: 27 Dec 2011, 21:33
Location: Poland, Gdańsk

Re: [Fallout 4] Natural Bloom

Boris

Some comments regarding those edits to the bloom. Could be that there's something wrong with the way that scaling range in bloom works on AMD?:

Image
_________________
OS: Windows 10
CPU: AMD R5 3600
RAM: Corsair DDR4 16GB 3200MHz Vengeance
GPU: AMD Radeon 5700 XT
Sound Card: X-FI Titanium HD
Mobo: ASRock X370 Pro4
Monitor: M340CLZ 34" 3440x1440 100HZ AMD FREE Sync Curved Monitor

Offline
*blah-blah-blah maniac*
Posts: 565
Joined: 05 Apr 2014, 10:29
Location: Taiwan

Re: [Fallout 4] Natural Bloom

performance drop is as expected.

scale is converted to step count and is essentially used as loop count.

scale == 4 means running 4*2 == 8 times on 16:9 monitor.
scale == 16 means 16*9 == 144 times.

but the actual impact is still hardware dependent.
_________________
Intel Xeon L5639 6C12T @3.96GHz | Gigabyte ga-x58a-ud3r | MSI GTX680 4G | 48G RAM | Intel 760p Nvme w clover bootloader
Flickr
YouTube

Offline
User avatar
*blah-blah-blah maniac*
Posts: 17427
Joined: 27 Dec 2011, 08:53
Location: Rather not to say

Re: [Fallout 4] Natural Bloom

If you don't want to have performance impact, then modify uniform inputs to foolish resolution information of input and output surfaces. Add more doubled passes, separated v/h too.
_________________
i9-9900k, 64Gb RAM, RTX 3060 12Gb, Win7

Offline
User avatar
*sensei*
Posts: 252
Joined: 08 Nov 2013, 20:38
Location: Greece

Re: [Fallout 4] Natural Bloom

Thanks for this! Btw did you include Jawz suggestion to the file? I would prefer bloom to be more selective and have a lower tolerance on the brightness of the pixels it get's applied.
_________________
ImageImage
/ Youtube Channel / Music Channel /
CPU: Intel Core i7-6850k @4.2GHz GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 Aorus OC 6gb vram RAM: Corsair DDR4 32gb Disk Drive: SSD Mushkin 120gb

Offline
User avatar
*sensei*
Posts: 341
Joined: 27 Dec 2011, 21:33
Location: Poland, Gdańsk

Re: [Fallout 4] Natural Bloom

LucidAPs wrote:Thanks for this! Btw did you include Jawz suggestion to the file? I would prefer bloom to be more selective and have a lower tolerance on the brightness of the pixels it get's applied.
I did not include it, it caused some issue for me when very high intensity bloom would stay on screen.
_________________
OS: Windows 10
CPU: AMD R5 3600
RAM: Corsair DDR4 16GB 3200MHz Vengeance
GPU: AMD Radeon 5700 XT
Sound Card: X-FI Titanium HD
Mobo: ASRock X370 Pro4
Monitor: M340CLZ 34" 3440x1440 100HZ AMD FREE Sync Curved Monitor

Offline
User avatar
Posts: 84
Joined: 21 Nov 2015, 14:15

Re: [Fallout 4] Natural Bloom

MaxTheUniqueGamer wrote:
LucidAPs wrote:Thanks for this! Btw did you include Jawz suggestion to the file? I would prefer bloom to be more selective and have a lower tolerance on the brightness of the pixels it get's applied.
I did not include it, it caused some issue for me when very high intensity bloom would stay on screen.
I had to do more than just place the pow function to limit the brightness selection, as only doing Jawz's suggestion resulted in "burns" all over the picture, the kind described by Max.
The logic was that this "pow" should be done to the source or at least first resize operation rather than on the final result of all the combined resizes. Each subsequent resize in the "multipass bloom" are using the result of the previous one anyway.
I also injected the white point / black point controls from Enbeffects and multiplied each step of the bloomMix() function by an increasing value to "smooth out" the bloom and simulate some kind of curve. Values are kinda random so feel free to tweak them to get a linear smooth, or a quad smooth or whatever :p

I'm including the file, it was initially based on Max's modification anyway.

In enbseries.ini, I'm using a brightness of 1.0 and GammaCurve of 1.15 under COLORCORRECTION ; as well as Contrast=1.4 CC: In black=0.15 CC: In white=0.95 CC: Out black=0.0 and CC: Out white=0.38 in ENBBLOOM.ini.

Example and shameless repost :
Image Image Image
The fire one is an extreme example, but you can notice how it blends the sky in the two others, especially on the satellite dish.

I've been using this for some time now and the only really annoying quirk I get comes from high-value pixels on the border of the screen, which suddenly "erupt" into some kind of flash. I didn't really delve into the issue yet though as it doesn't happen that often ( and may be cause by enblens anyway since enblens is also dependant on the brightness and GammaCurbe you input ).

Also please note this is just modifications of the original ENBBLOOM and as he like to remind us, just an example. I merely patched in a way to tweak the source thanks to contrast/black/white in enbbloom, but it probably won't hold a candle to a "real" bloom shader.
Also it SHOULD be 289 ready.
Attachments
enbbloom.fx
(12.32 KiB) Downloaded 224 times

Offline
User avatar
*sensei*
Posts: 252
Joined: 08 Nov 2013, 20:38
Location: Greece

Re: [Fallout 4] Natural Bloom

Wolrajh
Heeyyy that's great, would love to test what you did. Thanks for sharing.
_________________
ImageImage
/ Youtube Channel / Music Channel /
CPU: Intel Core i7-6850k @4.2GHz GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 Aorus OC 6gb vram RAM: Corsair DDR4 32gb Disk Drive: SSD Mushkin 120gb

Offline
User avatar
*blah-blah-blah maniac*
Posts: 506
Joined: 02 Aug 2013, 23:06
Location: New Hampshire, US

Re: [Fallout 4] Natural Bloom

This looks great. Been playing with it tonight. I know it is a sampler but until a real bloom shader comes out would you mind me using it in a preset BETA I am working on? All credit given of course! The ReShade bloom was limited and taking this bloom tweak with the time of day in ENB is already giving me a lot of options for day and night bloom control.
_________________
Intel Core i9-9900K CPU @ 3.6 GHz // GeForce RTX 2080 Ti VRAM 11GB // Win10 64 and 64GB Ram // Monitor 2560x1440@144

Offline
User avatar
*sensei*
Posts: 341
Joined: 27 Dec 2011, 21:33
Location: Poland, Gdańsk

Re: [Fallout 4] Natural Bloom

Wolrajh wrote:*snip*
Great work dude! Can I include your edits as a 1.2 version of Natural Bloom? You'll be credited.
_________________
OS: Windows 10
CPU: AMD R5 3600
RAM: Corsair DDR4 16GB 3200MHz Vengeance
GPU: AMD Radeon 5700 XT
Sound Card: X-FI Titanium HD
Mobo: ASRock X370 Pro4
Monitor: M340CLZ 34" 3440x1440 100HZ AMD FREE Sync Curved Monitor
Post Reply