[FO4/SSE] SMAA 1x for 0.288+

share shaders here
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
*blah-blah-blah maniac*
Posts: 565
Joined: 05 Apr 2014, 10:29
Location: Taiwan

Re: [FO4/SSE] SMAA 1x for 0.288+

The edge detection is subtle if you have other AA method on.
_________________
Intel Xeon L5639 6C12T @3.96GHz | Gigabyte ga-x58a-ud3r | MSI GTX680 4G | 48G RAM | Intel 760p Nvme w clover bootloader
Flickr
YouTube

Offline
*sensei*
Posts: 286
Joined: 20 Sep 2012, 00:20
Location: the perfect system

Re: [FO4/SSE] SMAA 1x for 0.288+

Hi kingeric1992; thanks so much for putting this together! All your work here is appreciated.

One minor issue/question:

It seems I am getting slightly lower FPS with SMAA than with the game's TAA which is odd as I remember a significant FPS improvement over alternate methods in the old Skyrim. For the TAA test I completely removed the SMAA code inclusion altogether.

Game TAA - 40.1 FPS:
https://i.imgur.com/wVaOFVj.jpg

SMAA Ultra - 39.0 FPS:
https://i.imgur.com/DrJEP7e.jpg

SMAA Low - 39.1 FPS:
https://i.imgur.com/nJ0VZj2.jpg

This is with the following settings:
#define SMAA_PRESET 4
#define SMAA_PREDICATION 0
#define SMAA_EDGE_MODE 0
#define SMAA_DEBUG 0

#define SMAA_THRESHOLD 0.05
#define SMAA_MAX_SEARCH_STEPS 32
#define SMAA_MAX_SEARCH_STEPS_DIAG 16
#define SMAA_CORNER_ROUNDING 25


EDIT: What is very strange is if I change the above settings to this:

#define SMAA_THRESHOLD 0.1
#define SMAA_MAX_SEARCH_STEPS 16
#define SMAA_MAX_SEARCH_STEPS_DIAG 0
#define SMAA_CORNER_ROUNDING 25

Keeping it on Ultra I actually get 38.9 FPS, slightly lower than with higher settings:

https://i.imgur.com/ADMTeNE.jpg

Offline
User avatar
*blah-blah-blah maniac*
Posts: 983
Joined: 09 Dec 2012, 00:29

Re: [FO4/SSE] SMAA 1x for 0.288+

Maybe someone can help me. Is there any easy way to make it switchable (on/off) in the enbeffectpostpass.fx file ?

I've added it after the blur and sharp and before Post FX. Is this correct ? Maybe it shoul be implemented before blur, sharp passes ?
_________________
Rudy ENB for Skyrim, Skyrim SE, for Fallout New Vegas, for Dragon's Dogma

English is not my native language.

AMD Ryzen 9 5900X, Gigabyte B550 AORUS PRO AC, Arctic Liquid Freezer II 280, Nvidia Geforce RTX 2070 Super, 64GB ram

Offline
User avatar
Posts: 56
Joined: 02 Aug 2017, 13:30

Re: [FO4/SSE] SMAA 1x for 0.288+

just did it for ya ;)
https://www.dropbox.com/s/3is13zkg6krwl ... s.rar?dl=1
On/off switch via techniques.
Just took postpass the file from your nexus preset ;) Tell me if its not working (tho it should)

Offline
User avatar
*blah-blah-blah maniac*
Posts: 983
Joined: 09 Dec 2012, 00:29

Re: [FO4/SSE] SMAA 1x for 0.288+

Adyss -- You are my hero :D Many, many thanks for your help.

One question, shouldn't the "technique11 BlurSharp3 /// Post effects" be placed after SMAA, so Grain or Vignette wouldn't be taken into calculations? Maybe it doesn't metter.

EDIT -- Works like a charm, but in Technique menu I have one, named Passname0 and can't figure why.
Last edited by Guzio on 03 May 2018, 21:49, edited 1 time in total.
_________________
Rudy ENB for Skyrim, Skyrim SE, for Fallout New Vegas, for Dragon's Dogma

English is not my native language.

AMD Ryzen 9 5900X, Gigabyte B550 AORUS PRO AC, Arctic Liquid Freezer II 280, Nvidia Geforce RTX 2070 Super, 64GB ram

Offline
Posts: 58
Joined: 15 Dec 2016, 20:38

Re: [FO4/SSE] SMAA 1x for 0.288+

Adyss wrote:just did it for ya ;)
https://www.dropbox.com/s/3is13zkg6krwl ... s.rar?dl=1
On/off switch via techniques.
Just took postpass the file from your nexus preset ;) Tell me if its not working (tho it should)
Is there a way to have it just as a enable line?

Offline
User avatar
Posts: 56
Joined: 02 Aug 2017, 13:30

Re: [FO4/SSE] SMAA 1x for 0.288+

@rudy I could have sworn that i fixed that Passname0 issue... will look into it. Also i am not sure if it makes a diffrence if it passes before or after.

@fireman I suppose yes but i am too lazy to do so now. This way it works too. I might release my Postpass with all my reshade ports + that function here in the forum soon as i fixed and cleaned my code lol
Attachments
enbsmaa.fx
In theory fixes "Passname0" but i didnt checked in a compiler
(16.19 KiB) Downloaded 562 times

Offline
User avatar
*master*
Posts: 177
Joined: 08 Nov 2016, 15:18
Location: Brazil

Re: [FO4/SSE] SMAA 1x for 0.288+

Adyss wrote:@rudy I could have sworn that i fixed that Passname0 issue... will look into it. Also i am not sure if it makes a diffrence if it passes before or after.

@fireman I suppose yes but i am too lazy to do so now. This way it works too. I might release my Postpass with all my reshade ports + that function here in the forum soon as i fixed and cleaned my code lol
Would be really great a postpass file with Reshade effects ported. Thanks in advance! :)
_________________
Intel i5 9400f ; NVIDIA RTX 3060 12gb VRAM; 16gb RAM; Windows 10

PhoenixVivid ENB for SSE / Phoenix Cinematic ENB for Fallout 4
Imaginarium ENB for SSE / Insanity ENB for Skyrim LE
NCW ENB for Fallout 4 / Somber Phantasy ENB for SSE


My Nexus Page

Offline
User avatar
*blah-blah-blah maniac*
Posts: 983
Joined: 09 Dec 2012, 00:29

Re: [FO4/SSE] SMAA 1x for 0.288+

Adyss -- Thank you again :) Passname0 issue fixed.

One thing puzzles me. Is it normal, that when SMAA is enabled (no other AA is used in my examples) and DOF is enabled, some edges are not anti-aliased ?

SMAA on, Dof off :
Image
SMAA on, Dof on :
Image
SMAA off, Dof off :
Image
SMAA off, Dof on :
Image
_________________
Rudy ENB for Skyrim, Skyrim SE, for Fallout New Vegas, for Dragon's Dogma

English is not my native language.

AMD Ryzen 9 5900X, Gigabyte B550 AORUS PRO AC, Arctic Liquid Freezer II 280, Nvidia Geforce RTX 2070 Super, 64GB ram

Offline
Posts: 58
Joined: 15 Dec 2016, 20:38

Re: [FO4/SSE] SMAA 1x for 0.288+

Adyss wrote:@rudy I could have sworn that i fixed that Passname0 issue... will look into it. Also i am not sure if it makes a diffrence if it passes before or after.

@fireman I suppose yes but i am too lazy to do so now. This way it works too. I might release my Postpass with all my reshade ports + that function here in the forum soon as i fixed and cleaned my code lol
No problem. I understand. Switching Techniques is fine.
Post Reply