Please use english language
It is currently 19 Nov 2017, 01:16

All times are UTC





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 26 Nov 2015, 01:35 
Offline

Joined: 26 Nov 2015, 01:32
Posts: 2
Hi, I was reading your Nvidia thread about the ram limitations, but I'm not sure that it is a Nvidia problem. I'm running Windows 10 64bit with an AMD R9 card.

VRamSizeDX9 reports 4064
VRamSizeDX11 reports 43232


Top
 Profile  
 
Tomoko
PostPosted: 26 Nov 2015, 01:46 
Offline
*blah-blah-blah maniac*
User avatar

Joined: 28 Dec 2011, 00:50
Posts: 836
DX9 is limited to 4GB no matter what, dude to issues with the drivers, as I understand.

For DX11, a part of the value returned is actually hard disk space that should not be used for ENBoost. For details, see my video about determining the correct value to use: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xSz84F1kgkM

_________________
Fallout 4 ENB Video Series | Skyrim ENB Video Series | My YouTube Channel
Intel i7-4700HQ @ 2.4GHz | NVidia GTX780M 4GB | 24GB RAM


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 26 Nov 2015, 01:55 
Offline
*blah-blah-blah maniac*
User avatar

Joined: 27 Dec 2011, 08:53
Posts: 11502
Location: St.Petersburg
Well, it's not limited to 4Gb, but in Win10 it is. And because it's driver limitation only, this just means that all developers choosed this way, while in Win7/Vista/XP some drivers-videocards combo had bigger amount of memory available as VRAM (as real or VRAM+RAM).

_________________
Core i5-4690K 3.5 GHz, 16 Gb ram, GeForce 650 Ti 2 Gb, X-Fi Xtreme Music, WinXP/Win7
I am INFP, not the brutal, godamnit.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 26 Nov 2015, 02:20 
Offline

Joined: 26 Nov 2015, 01:32
Posts: 2
Thanks, I wanted to make sure that running Windows 7 on the side might not be a waste of time. Do you think that the developers had an option, or did Microsoft require them to have this limit?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 26 Nov 2015, 05:33 
Offline
*blah-blah-blah maniac*
User avatar

Joined: 27 Dec 2011, 08:53
Posts: 11502
Location: St.Petersburg
MS have no control over vram size. Dx9 have limit of 4gb reported by function call of available video memory because MS coders fault. But driver do not have limitation and i'm trying to utilize it.

_________________
Core i5-4690K 3.5 GHz, 16 Gb ram, GeForce 650 Ti 2 Gb, X-Fi Xtreme Music, WinXP/Win7
I am INFP, not the brutal, godamnit.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 17 Oct 2017, 22:48 
Offline

Joined: 13 Oct 2017, 21:00
Posts: 2
Not sure if you all know, but today Windows 10 rolled out the DX9 fix (FINALLY) allowing more than the 4GB max. A VERY noticeble and signifcant difference! Mine clocked in at 71616! My question is what should the settings be on enblocal.ini now that we have this massive change??


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 17 Oct 2017, 23:53 
Offline
*blah-blah-blah maniac*
User avatar

Joined: 27 Dec 2011, 08:53
Posts: 11502
Location: St.Petersburg
If you have so much, then maximal setting must be:
"vram" + "ram" - "os and other software ram used, guess 1.5-2 gb" - "memory used by game process with mods it's 2-4gb" - "enbhost.exe all copies of this process running 4gb each when used at max".

_________________
Core i5-4690K 3.5 GHz, 16 Gb ram, GeForce 650 Ti 2 Gb, X-Fi Xtreme Music, WinXP/Win7
I am INFP, not the brutal, godamnit.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group