Fallout 4 0.286 beta

Forum rules
new topics are not allowed in this subsection, only replies.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar
*blah-blah-blah maniac*
Posts: 17442
Joined: 27 Dec 2011, 08:53
Location: Rather not to say

Fallout 4 0.286 beta

Fallout 4 (TES With Guns)

ENBSeries 0.286 beta (graphic mod) / ENBoost (patch)

Added support of temporary render targets for enbeffectpostpass.fx shader file and new textures for it, temporary targets have predefined formats and full screen size. Added enbadaptation.fx external shader for eye adaptation effect. Added adaptation parameters to enbseries.ini config file. Changed format of main enbeffectpostpass.fx render targets to 16 bit per channel format to hide color banding completely. Fixed all reported bugs.

These are new textures of enbeffectpostpass.fx:

Code: Select all

Texture2D			RenderTargetRGBA32; //R8G8B8A8 32 bit ldr format
Texture2D			RenderTargetRGBA64; //R16B16G16A16 64 bit ldr format
Texture2D			RenderTargetRGBA64F; //R16B16G16A16F 64 bit hdr format
Texture2D			RenderTargetR16F; //R16F 16 bit hdr format with red channel only
Texture2D			RenderTargetR32F; //R32F 32 bit hdr format with red channel only
which can be used for rendering to them as temporary targets. To choose any of it as target and to mark technique for drawing in to temporary render target, add annotation like in following code:

Code: Select all

technique11 TemporaryTarget1 <string RenderTarget="RenderTargetRGBA32";>
{
	//... some code here
}
You may use techniques with any combination between drawing normally (like effect.txt "passes") and drawing to temporary render targets. Just follow the rule of valid index at the end of technique name to link them.
Setting render target of unsupported type (TextureDepth, TextureColor, etc) or mistake in annotation leads to skipping of rendering to temporary target and entire technique.

Adaptation technique11 Downsample have 256*256 texture as input, because screen is internally downampled to 256*256 for performance reasons and simplicity of the code. Entire code of adaptation is almost the same as used in Skyrim, just changed sizes of render targets to reduce number of passes and final texture have only red color channel as gray data for performance reasons and higher range of values possible with 32 bit float.
_________________
i9-9900k, 64Gb RAM, RTX 3060 12Gb, Win7

Offline
User avatar
Posts: 29
Joined: 09 Jan 2014, 14:12
Location: Miami FL USA

Re: Fallout 4 0.286 beta

Thank you Boris, downloaded and if I have anything to report I will.
_________________
Asus Z97-k, i7-4790 @ 4.1GHZ, 16GB GSkill 2400, 1TB HDD, EVGA GTX 960 FTW 4GB

Offline
User avatar
Posts: 29
Joined: 09 Jan 2014, 14:12
Location: Miami FL USA

Re: Fallout 4 0.286 beta

Ok, so right after I installed I jumped into my save and noted the following. When i look upwards to the sky I notice that there is banding from left to right which Ive seen before in Skyim/FO4 etc.. and is nothing new. The only difference now is that they are more pronounced.

Just passing this along, it could be because I haven't modified anything in terms of the .fx files etc. but just wanting to contribute since I have been lurking here for years.


With Reshade on (in case it makes a difference)
Image

With Reshade off (in case it makes a difference)
Image

Thanks for everything Boris.
_________________
Asus Z97-k, i7-4790 @ 4.1GHZ, 16GB GSkill 2400, 1TB HDD, EVGA GTX 960 FTW 4GB

Offline
User avatar
*sensei*
Posts: 341
Joined: 27 Dec 2011, 21:33
Location: Poland, Gdańsk

Re: Fallout 4 0.286 beta

Adaption works, if You can't see it, change ForceMinMaxValues=false to true while in game, you should notice it right off the bat.
Last edited by MaxG3D on 06 Dec 2015, 19:26, edited 3 times in total.
_________________
OS: Windows 10
CPU: AMD R5 3600
RAM: Corsair DDR4 16GB 3200MHz Vengeance
GPU: AMD Radeon 5700 XT
Sound Card: X-FI Titanium HD
Mobo: ASRock X370 Pro4
Monitor: M340CLZ 34" 3440x1440 100HZ AMD FREE Sync Curved Monitor

Offline
User avatar
Posts: 29
Joined: 09 Jan 2014, 14:12
Location: Miami FL USA

Re: Fallout 4 0.286 beta

About the banding, and of course this can be limited to me but I am just reporting in. It actually animates, in the image below when I moved the cam up and down while looking at the sky the banding would move and in some cases distort into squares which can kind of been seen in the middle of the image.

My enblocal is set to 8400mb vram as per Vram Tool and after subtracting the amount of memory that my system is using in background processes. GTX 750 TI, 8gb Corsair Vengeance, z97-k, i7-4790.

Image
_________________
Asus Z97-k, i7-4790 @ 4.1GHZ, 16GB GSkill 2400, 1TB HDD, EVGA GTX 960 FTW 4GB

Offline
User avatar
*blah-blah-blah maniac*
Posts: 17442
Joined: 27 Dec 2011, 08:53
Location: Rather not to say

Re: Fallout 4 0.286 beta

MaxTheUniqueGamer
Change BlurSharp3 to BlurSharp2 in technique name.

djekmiami
Hey, i'm drawing to 64 bit format now, previous was 32 bit. I can't decrease banding any more. 65536 values for each color channel is enough and bug occur by some another reason.
_________________
i9-9900k, 64Gb RAM, RTX 3060 12Gb, Win7

Offline
User avatar
*blah-blah-blah maniac*
Posts: 849
Joined: 28 Dec 2011, 00:50

Re: Fallout 4 0.286 beta

@BORIS

Looking at the recent images you posted, I think you might really enjoy this video:

Fallout 4 Mods: "Immersive" Facial Animations
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yp2DOQ18oM8

I could not stop laughing :)
_________________
Fallout 4 ENB Video Series | Skyrim ENB Video Series | My YouTube Channel
Intel i7-4700HQ @ 2.4GHz | NVidia GTX780M 4GB | 24GB RAM

Offline
User avatar
*master*
Posts: 229
Joined: 21 Feb 2013, 03:21
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Fallout 4 0.286 beta

How is the value of ForceMinMaxValues detected in the enbadaptation.fx shader? The code makes it seem like it's always true.

Code: Select all

	
        //limit value if ForceMinMaxValues=true
	float	valmax;
	float	valcut;
	valmax=max(res.x, max(res.y, res.z));
	valcut=max(valmax, AdaptationParameters.x); //AdaptationMin
	valcut=min(valcut, AdaptationParameters.y); //AdaptationMax
	res*=valcut/(valmax + 0.000000001f);
I would have expected an if statement with an external variable to control it:

Code: Select all

if ( ForceMinMaxValues ){
        //limit value if ForceMinMaxValues=true
	float	valmax;
	float	valcut;
	valmax=max(res.x, max(res.y, res.z));
	valcut=max(valmax, AdaptationParameters.x); //AdaptationMin
	valcut=min(valcut, AdaptationParameters.y); //AdaptationMax
	res*=valcut/(valmax + 0.000000001f);
}
Am I missing something? Thanks
_________________
i7-4970K 4.8ghz, 16gb ram, Geforce Titan X 12gb vram, win7

Offline
User avatar
*blah-blah-blah maniac*
Posts: 17442
Joined: 27 Dec 2011, 08:53
Location: Rather not to say

Re: Fallout 4 0.286 beta

number6
If ForceMinMaxValues=false, AdaptationMin and AdaptationMax have very low and very huge values.
_________________
i9-9900k, 64Gb RAM, RTX 3060 12Gb, Win7

Offline
User avatar
*master*
Posts: 136
Joined: 08 Nov 2012, 15:24

Re: Fallout 4 0.286 beta

The banding in the old version wasn't really visible in most conditions, but I guess higher image quality should be worth the performance.
Still, I've noticed a particularly bad case doesn't look any better with or without the larger buffer.
New version // Old version
It appears even with the original post processing code. Perhaps it's something from the crepuscular rays?
Last edited by roxahris on 06 Dec 2015, 20:07, edited 2 times in total.
Post Reply