Please use english language
It is currently 24 Feb 2018, 00:24

All times are UTC


Forum rules


new topics are not allowed in this subsection, only replies.




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 69 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: 22 Dec 2016, 18:14 
Offline
*sensei*
User avatar

Joined: 12 Aug 2013, 18:55
Posts: 275
Location: Scotland
It's been a while, but TTW is still alive and kicking, and my interest in the game is piqued again. Got a question/request about how the game handles lighting.

There is a limit of only 4 lights being able to illuminate an object. If there are more, the game will constantly switch between which lights affect the object, making the object "flash" when the camera is moved. This was avoided by the devs using small subsections of models, to create levels in the game.

But that drives up the draw calls, murdering performance for us AMD CPU plebs. The solution would be to merge completely static objects (not changed at runtime) inside each individual cell, exactly like how FNVLODGen creates LOD meshes. But that completely falls apart when lights come into play.

Would it be possible to have the lighting limit increased? Or is it far too ingrained into the engine?

_________________
Intel i7 6700k | AMD HD 7850 2GB | 2x16GB DDR4 @ 3000mhz | Windows 7 64bit | Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro | Asus z170 Pro Gaming


Top
 Profile  
 
Tomoko
PostPosted: 23 Dec 2016, 03:21 
Offline
*blah-blah-blah maniac*
User avatar

Joined: 27 Dec 2011, 08:53
Posts: 11771
Location: Voronezh
Without source code it's hardly possible, not worth time effort absolutely. It's game assign lights and switch them, improving shaders do not change that fact and code for such things is usually too long to patch it, require more changes.

_________________
AMD A6-3420M 1.5 GHz, 8 Gb ram, Radeon HD6520G 2 Gb, Win7
I am INFP, not the brutal, godamnit.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 11 Jan 2017, 04:01 
Offline
*blah-blah-blah maniac*
User avatar

Joined: 27 Dec 2011, 08:53
Posts: 11771
Location: Voronezh
Version updated, download again
Fixed color correction alpha channel bug

_________________
AMD A6-3420M 1.5 GHz, 8 Gb ram, Radeon HD6520G 2 Gb, Win7
I am INFP, not the brutal, godamnit.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 04 Feb 2017, 10:55 
Offline
*sensei*

Joined: 16 Mar 2013, 16:28
Posts: 371
Don't know if this is the right place for it, but the GECK crashes with the latest ENB in FalloutNV dir.
If i want to work with the GECK i have to delete the dll everytime and put it when i'm i'm going to play the game.

_________________
Intel I5 CPU 4x3,6ghz, R9 290x 8GBVRam, 256GB SSD 2x, 1,5TB WD Caviar Green, Realtek HD Audio, 32GB 7-8-8-24 1600MHZ System RAM, W10 Pro.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 04 Feb 2017, 13:53 
Offline
*blah-blah-blah maniac*
User avatar

Joined: 27 Dec 2011, 08:53
Posts: 11771
Location: Voronezh
There is no difference in code which may cause anything like that compared to previous updates, dll is the same.

_________________
AMD A6-3420M 1.5 GHz, 8 Gb ram, Radeon HD6520G 2 Gb, Win7
I am INFP, not the brutal, godamnit.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 07 Feb 2017, 06:05 
Offline
*sensei*
User avatar

Joined: 26 Sep 2012, 12:00
Posts: 322
Location: Darkest corners of G.E.C.K.
Marcurios wrote:
Don't know if this is the right place for it, but the GECK crashes with the latest ENB in FalloutNV dir.
If i want to work with the GECK i have to delete the dll everytime and put it when i'm i'm going to play the game.

iirc, this crash (and a few more) was introduced by one of the win10 updates that happened 3-6 months ago. Try using NVAC, it was updated to solve win10 crashes and some of nvidia updated driver crashes as well. It might not help you, but it's worth a shot.

_________________
I used to be an ENB tweaker like you, but then I overheat my GPU.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 10 Feb 2017, 11:14 
Offline
*sensei*

Joined: 16 Mar 2013, 16:28
Posts: 371
Thanks Xilandro, but i already had NVAC active for a few years, i recently updated but still need to remove ENB dll.
Doesn't really matter, cause when i started up geck before with ENB (when it still worked) it took like 30 seconds before it loaded, and when i remove the dll
it starts immediately, so the time i need to remove the dll is the same as it would be when it would still work, just a few extra clicks.
Was merely curious as to if it was known, now i know it is, but Microsuck related..

_________________
Intel I5 CPU 4x3,6ghz, R9 290x 8GBVRam, 256GB SSD 2x, 1,5TB WD Caviar Green, Realtek HD Audio, 32GB 7-8-8-24 1600MHZ System RAM, W10 Pro.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 05 Mar 2017, 18:18 
Offline

Joined: 05 Mar 2017, 18:07
Posts: 5
Hello, I never used ENB so I have some questions.

Is the ENB Boost is included in ENBseries 0.278 and why is there an ENBoost ( http://www.nexusmods.com/fallout3/mods/19369 ) on Nexus and a memory patcher on ENB ( http://enbdev.com/patch_falloutnv_enboost_v0203.htm ) which is different.

Thank you :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 06 Mar 2017, 07:47 
Offline
*blah-blah-blah maniac*
User avatar

Joined: 27 Dec 2011, 08:53
Posts: 11771
Location: Voronezh
All new versions of ENBSeries includes ENBoost. But it doesn't matter what you will use, it's up to you to decide

_________________
AMD A6-3420M 1.5 GHz, 8 Gb ram, Radeon HD6520G 2 Gb, Win7
I am INFP, not the brutal, godamnit.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 07 Mar 2017, 15:31 
Offline

Joined: 05 Mar 2017, 18:07
Posts: 5
So you mean that I don't need to download the ENBoost on nexus and/or the memory patcher here if I use the latest ENBSeries ?
Which is the better ?


Last edited by PowderKrankenHousen on 07 Mar 2017, 15:42, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 69 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group