Please use english language
It is currently 24 Sep 2017, 15:55

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: 29 May 2017, 17:45 
Offline

Joined: 29 May 2017, 16:50
Posts: 2
Image

For those not in the know with the release of Windows 8 Microsoft changed the way DirectX 9 API allocates memory to a game. On Windows 7 DX9 could allocate the entirety of the user's VRAM, and by extension use ENBoost to allocate RAM to the Texture Memory Pool as well, but with Windows 8 and above DX9 can current only allocate 4064MB maximum to the Texture Pool, meaning with heavily modded instances of Fallout 3 / New Vegas, Oblivion, and OG Skyrim the user would be limited in what mods they could install to not reach the memory limit.

In my case I have had to reinstall Windows 7 on a separate partition just for Fallout New Vegas (and FNV:MP when I get around to sorting my load order for MP) which is inconvenient at best.

After having a conversation about the issue with one of the Microsoft devs I got a PM showing that the issue was fixed on their end, let's hope it gets pushed to the stable build!

UPDATE:

Image

Glad this is getting fixed soon.


Last edited by Weion on 31 May 2017, 00:08, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 30 May 2017, 06:55 
Offline
*blah-blah-blah maniac*
User avatar

Joined: 27 Dec 2011, 08:53
Posts: 11263
Location: St.Petersburg
Wow! Great news, thank you!

_________________
Core i5-4690K 3.5 GHz, 16 Gb ram, GeForce 650 Ti 2 Gb, X-Fi Xtreme Music, WinXP/Win7
I am INFP, not the brutal, godamnit.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 30 May 2017, 14:35 
Offline
*master*
User avatar

Joined: 12 May 2013, 09:51
Posts: 108
:o This is awesome news.

_________________
Intel Core i7-6700K | EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti HYBRID | CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 32GB | Windows 10 64-bit
Tumblr
Flickr


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 30 May 2017, 23:09 
Offline

Joined: 09 Jul 2015, 16:13
Posts: 80
Welp, I'll be modding up Oldrim again if this gets fixed. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 31 May 2017, 00:07 
Offline

Joined: 29 May 2017, 16:50
Posts: 2
UPDATE:

Image

Glad this is getting fixed soon.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 31 May 2017, 10:48 
Offline

Joined: 31 May 2017, 10:45
Posts: 2
Thanks


Last edited by Jordangamer007 on 06 Jun 2017, 11:48, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 31 May 2017, 21:38 
Offline
*sensei*
User avatar

Joined: 02 Aug 2013, 23:06
Posts: 391
Location: New Hampshire, US
This would be awesome news if it happens. I still prefer Skyrim Classic and its the only one I play. Have had to go through hoops to get a stable enough game with a tighter mod list.

_________________
Intel Core i7-7700K 4.2 GHz // GeForce GTX 1080 Ti // Win10 64 and 32GB Ram // Monitor 2560x1440@144


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 02 Jul 2017, 00:03 
Offline
*sensei*
User avatar

Joined: 02 Aug 2013, 23:06
Posts: 391
Location: New Hampshire, US
Zekerriya mentioned to me that there was an update on this. Did a little digging and found this post:

https://www.reddit.com/r/skyrimmods/com ... ed_in_new/

Quote:
Hi all, a new build has been released to the Windows Insider fast ring, which contains my fix for the DX9 4GB memory issue. Link to the blog post (this change was not called out in the fixes list).

For those of you not familiar with the Insider program, you can go to https://insider.windows.com/ to sign up. Note that you will get some features that are not done, and are more likely to have bugs in your operating system if you choose to go this route. If you prefer, you can wait until the Fall Creator's update to get this fix.

Let me know if this works for you. Enjoy!

_________________
Intel Core i7-7700K 4.2 GHz // GeForce GTX 1080 Ti // Win10 64 and 32GB Ram // Monitor 2560x1440@144


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 05 Aug 2017, 14:12 
Offline

Joined: 01 Mar 2016, 13:23
Posts: 7
Some people report that MO doesn't use SKSE anymore after installing the windows 10 insider preview RS3 ver 16257 that includes the fix. Can anybody confirm that?
I would like to have this fix, but not having that much RAM anyways, i definitly prefer using MO. :(
And if somebody can confirm it, could somebody report it to the dev? I'm afraid MO won't get an update, but since it works with Win 7 maybe there is a bug in this insider preview?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 13 Aug 2017, 10:40 
Offline

Joined: 14 Mar 2016, 22:02
Posts: 6
Nazzzgul wrote:
Some people report that MO doesn't use SKSE anymore after installing the windows 10 insider preview RS3 ver 16257 that includes the fix. Can anybody confirm that?
I would like to have this fix, but not having that much RAM anyways, i definitly prefer using MO. :(
And if somebody can confirm it, could somebody report it to the dev? I'm afraid MO won't get an update, but since it works with Win 7 maybe there is a bug in this insider preview?


Where did you hear this? I'm on the latest Insider preview and MO with SKSE works fine. DX9 bug is gone too, I believe.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group